Top Off Your TBR: August 2021 Edition

[fa icon="calendar"] Jul 29, 2021 10:15:00 AM / by Suzanne

I don't have any pithy for August, so let's just get into some books releasing this month!

*

This post contains affiliate links.

Top Off Your TBR-1

love-and-pompomsCheer Up: Love and Pompoms, by Crystal Frasier - August 10

A sweet, queer teen romance perfect for fans of Heartstopper and Check, Please!

Annie is a smart, antisocial lesbian starting her senior year of high school who’s under pressure to join the cheerleader squad to make friends and round out her college applications. Her former friend BeBe is a people-pleaser—a trans girl who must keep her parents happy with her grades and social life to keep their support of her transition. Through the rigors of squad training and amped up social pressures (not to mention micro aggressions and other queer youth problems), the two girls rekindle a friendship they thought they’d lost and discover there may be other, sweeter feelings springing up between them. 

***

Why I Want to Read It - A graphic novel written for me! It's queer romance and I honestly only care about cheerleading in the context of "But I'm a Cheerleader" so here we go. 

Buy a copy:  AmazonBarnes & NobleBookshop

 

for-the-love-of-april-frenchFor the Love of April French, by Penny Aimes - August 31

April French doesn't do relationships and she never asks for more.

A long-standing regular at kink club Frankie's, she's kind of seen it all. As a trans woman, she’s used to being the scenic rest stop for others on their way to a happily-ever-after. She knows how desire works, and she keeps hers carefully boxed up to take out on weekends only.

After all, you can't be let down if you never ask.

Then Dennis Martin walks into Frankie's, fresh from Seattle and looking a little lost. April just meant to be friendly, but one flirtatious drink turns into one hot night.

When Dennis asks for her number, she gives it to him.

When he asks for her trust, well…that's a little harder.

And when the desire she thought she had such a firm grip on comes alive with Dennis, April finds herself wanting passion, purpose and commitment.

But when their relationship moves from complicated to impossible, April will have to decide how much she's willing to want.

***

Why I Want to Read It - I've been hearing nothing but good things about this romance. Who doesn't want to read about a trans woman finally receiving the love she deserves?

Buy a copy:  AmazonBarnes & NobleBookshopKobo

 

I've also read It Happened One Summer and it was a lot of fun.

 

Also out this month (beware, not all are romance!):

(All titles in red are links to Amazon)

if-the-shoe-fitsAugust 3 - So We Meet Again, by Suzanne Park

August 3 - Big Witch Energy, by Kelly Jamieson

August 3 - If the Shoe Fits, by Julie Murphy

August 3 - The Dating Dare, by Jayci Lee

August 3 - I Kissed a Girl, by Jennet Alexander

August 10 - Wait for It, by Jenn McKinlay

August 10 - Shaken or Stirred, by Georgia Beers

August 10 - Just Not That Into Billionaires, by Annika Martin

her-countess-to-cherishAugust 10 - Her Countess to Cherish, by Jane Walsh

August 10 - It Takes Heart, by Tif Marcelo

August 10 - Role Model, by Rachel Reid

August 17 - Battle Royal, by Lucy Parker

August 17 - The Dating Playbook, by Farrah Rochon

August 17 - Phantom Heart, by Kelly Creagh

August 17 - Sometimes I Trip On How Happy We Could Be, by Nichole Perkins

requiem-of-silenceAugust 17 - Requiem of Silence, by L. Penelope

August 17 - Me (Moth), by Amber McBride

August 17 - Velvet Was the Night, by Sylvia Moreno-Garcia

August 24 - Along Came a Lady, by Christi Caldwell

August 24 - Bombshell, by Sarah MacLean

August 24 - A Delicious Dilemma, by Sera Taino

August 24 - A Blues Singer to Redeem Him, by Elle Jackson

a-blues-singer-to-redeem-himAugust 24 - Secrets of a One Night Stand, by Naima Simone

August 24 - Tracing a Kidnapper, by Juno Rushdan

August 24 - True Love Cowboy, by Jennifer Ryan

August 24 - Turn Up the Heat, by Marie Harte

August 24 - Uncharted, by Adriana Anders

August 24 - I'm Only Wicked With You, by Julie Anne Long

August 24 - The Hazards of Hunting a Duke, by Julia London

August 24 - A Duke Worth Fighting For, by Christina Britton

nights-illusionAugust 24 - Foolish Hearts, by Synithia Williams

August 24 - Night's Illusion, by Amanda Ashley

August 24 - The Highland Fling, by Meghan Quinn

August 24 - When You Wish Upon a Duke, by Charis Michaels

August 31 - The Heart Principle, by Helen Hoang

August 31 - The Devil You Know, by Kit Rocha

August 31 - Forestborn, by Elayne Audrey Becker

August 31 - The Witch Haven, by Sasha Peyton Smith

August 31 - The Royals Next Door, by Karina Halle

August 31 - Hollywood Ending, by Tash Skilton

August 31 - Breaking Badger, by Shelly Laurenston

August 31 - The Name Curse, by Brooke Burroughs

 

Want to support us and indie bookstores at the same time? All print books on this list have been collected in a list over at Bookshop, too!

 

Reminder!

LGBTQ Reads keeps a list of new releases that includes queer fiction of every genre.

WoC in Romance publishes new release lists roughly weekly.

Girl Have You Read does the same.

 

What books are you looking forward to this month?

***

 

If you appreciate our content and wish to support the site, please consider using the affiliate links in this post and below for your shopping needs. Even if you don't buy the book in question, we receive a small % of your purchase from the vendor. As always, you are welcome to leave us a tip on Ko-Fi!

Support Love in Panels

Support Independent Bookstores - Visit IndieBound.org Buy an eBook From Kobo Today  

 

 

 

Topics: coming up,