Review: The Ex Talk, by Rachel Lynn Solomon

[fa icon="calendar'] Jan 19, 2021 11:08:35 AM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

The Ex Talk very much appealed to the NPR nerd in me, so if you like romance and you like public radio, you probably don't need to read the rest of this review.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Review: I Want to Be Where the Normal People Are, by Rachel Bloom

[fa icon="calendar'] Jan 14, 2021 10:15:00 AM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

Rachel Bloom's brand of humor isn't for everyone, but if it's for you, you'll love I Want to Be Where the Normal People Are. Fans of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend like me will appreciate the blend of gross, awkward, honest and er, musical? humor contained in these essays, screen-plays and journal entries by a young Rachel.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Review: Be Dazzled, by Ryan La Sala

[fa icon="calendar'] Jan 11, 2021 11:30:56 AM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

Be Dazzled is the sparkly gay book I hoped it would be.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

WTF Review: House of Shadows, by Jen Christie

[fa icon="calendar'] Jan 8, 2021 11:25:05 AM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

By now maybe you've noticed that I've been on something of a gothic romance kick lately. Maybe you don't follow my reading that closely. This is expected, you are a real human with better things to do. (Unless you're Google crawling the internet, in which case hiiii robot overlords.)

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Review: When a Rogue Meets His Match, by Elizabeth Hoyt

[fa icon="calendar'] Dec 21, 2020 10:12:00 AM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

After a lengthy--for the romance genre--break following the first in the Greycourt series, Elizabeth Hoyt returns with When a Rogue Meets His Match. I'm not sure why this series is received less favorably than the Maiden Lane series, but to me the hallmarks of her historical romances are still there.  Her writing still pulls the emotions out of me and her plots are complex and action-packed.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Review: Throwing Hearts, by N.R. Walker

[fa icon="calendar'] Dec 17, 2020 9:45:00 AM / by Andrea posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

Throwing Hearts had me nostalgic for a time when we could volunteer at an old age home and strike up casual conversations at coffee shops. I laughed out loud many times, and really enjoyed that N.R. Walker makes use of allll the innuendos possible during a pottery class.

The folks from the LGBTQ centre are a mix of lovely and grumpy old people who throw out love-hate banter at all their classes. Clyde, Leo’s old-person partner and friend, is hilariously grumpy –like, people have made formal complaints about his ridiculous insults. The Clyde sub-plot reminds us about the perspective of gay men of the 80s: that they paved the way, the loss they felt, and the stigma many older people in the LGBTQIA+ community still carry with them. Clyde’s romantic interest is from the same generation, and struggles with unlearning the need to be undercover about being gay. He's also given a wonderful introduction to the world of feeling genderqueer and publicly dressing accordingly.

One of the best and most laugh-out-loud enjoyable things about this book is the extremely current dating situation. Leo has to explain to Clyde why he didn’t ask for Merrick’s number (because he needs to stalk him online first to see if he’s married and/or racist) and we obviously experience the classic, painful accidental Instagram double-tap crisis. There’s an unpacking of whether he has the rainbow flag in his bio and a panicked avoidance of actual phone calls. The Instagram ‘like’ situation escalated so amazingly and almost too realistically! I was sitting on the couch listening and felt like I was sitting on the couch right next to Leo and his best friend. Their adorable friendship also had me missing casual late-night hangouts over-analysing crushes with friends. Sidenote: Leo’s voice sounds a lot like Troye’s Sivan, incase that’s something you’re into.

Throwing Hearts is everything N.R. Walker's books always are: Adorable, warm, charming and fun, with interesting characters who are undeniably and openly into each other, which results in memorable dates and sweet, intimate affection. 10/10 recommend!

***
If you'd like to purchase a copy of this book, please consider using one of the following links to support the site: Amazon  (Kindle Unlimited) ◊  Barnes & Noble  ◊  Bookshop  ◊  Kobo
***
Andrea purchased this audiobook.

Content Warnings: There’s some casual meanness and judgement of men who use Grindr and hook-up at gay clubs. Grief and mention of Clyde’s boyfriend who died in the 80s along with most of his friends.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Review: Where Dreams Descend, by Janella Angeles

[fa icon="calendar'] Dec 14, 2020 2:16:15 PM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

When I heard that Where Dreams Descend was being pitched as a gothic circus fantasy romance, I was intrigued. Then I saw the cover and I swear I gasped. The cover blurb from Claire Legrand says it's perfect for fans of Caraval and The Night Circus and while that is absolutely true, I got some pretty strong Phantom of the Opera vibes as well.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Mini-Reviews, 12/4/20 Edition

[fa icon="calendar'] Dec 4, 2020 10:31:19 AM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

More mini-reviews! Reviews of Teddy Spenser Isn't Looking for Love, Instant Karma, In a Holidaze and Kingdom of the Wicked.  That's an m/m contemporary, an f/m YA contemporary, an f/m contemporary and a YA fantasy.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Review: The Adventurers, by Bryce Oakley

[fa icon="calendar'] Nov 24, 2020 9:45:00 AM / by Andrea posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

The Adventurers is a cute, quirky, friends-to-lovers Romance that's filled with queer staples like Hayley Kiyoko songs, Sarah Waters’ “canonical lesbian fiction” and looking for possibly-queer clues when spotting a woman out in the wild.  

Kendall is a vet, which is nice, but she’s quite moody and judgey about her clients, especially when she’s on-call. She’s vegan, divorced, and has a close circle of queer friends. She also has two cats named Bacon and Eggs. She’s a bit too comfortable, though, and realizes she should really get out more and enjoy life. Enter Joey and the meet-disaster: After an intriguing introduction to each other while waiting at a laundromat, Kendall (who has a meowing cat in her handbag) makes a rushed exit. The chaos results in them switching laundry loads and leaves her in a “lost scrubs, found thongs” situation.

Joey is new in town, ready for a fresh start, and totally belongs in one of our Romantic Occupations lists. –She’s a French-language translator, mostly of manuals, most recently of hair-dye instructions and shampoo bottles. She makes a memorable entrance at the vet where Kendall works (her dog just ate her leather harness) when she’s asked: “Full name?” and proudly says “Ozzy Pawsbourne, Prince of Barkness!” only for the receptionist to reply that “…Oh, I mean your full name...”

Kendall and Joey's adventure list is inspired by a line in a Frank O’Hara poem: 'Each time my heart is broken it makes me feel more adventurous.’ Their adventures include buying a sex-toy in a female-owned sex shop, an appointment with a gender-freeing hairstylist, and having a suit made by a queer-friendly tailor. There’s also an attempt at having a one-night-stand and a camping adventure that ends up being a series of absolute fails.

Both women feel an attraction from the beginning, but tell themselves to just stick to friendship. So The Adventurers overall feels like a low-angst, slow-paced adventure in queer friendship. The actual Romance bit happens quite quickly at the end of the book, so it feels slightly rushed but we're happy for them! I'd recommend if you're looking for something light, sweet and hopeful.

 ***

If you'd like to purchase a copy of this book, please consider using one of the following links to support the site: Amazon (Kindle Unlimited) ◊  Bookshop

***

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]

Mini-Reviews, 11/19/20 Edition

[fa icon="calendar'] Nov 19, 2020 9:30:00 AM / by Suzanne posted in review

[fa icon="comment"] 0 Comments

More mini-reviews! Four audiobooks: Fence: Striking Distance, Once More Upon a Time, The Midnight Bargain and The Vicar and the Rake. That's an m/m contemporary YA, an f/m fantasy novella, an f/m historical fantasy and an m/m historical romance.

Read More [fa icon="long-arrow-right"]